More Than One Chinese Dialect for Translation

There is more than one Chinese dialect

We are often asked for Mandarin translation. However the official spoken languages spoken in Taiwan (capital: Taipei) and the People’s Republic of China (Mainland China) is referred to as Mandarin Chinese.

The term Mandarin however only refers to standard spoken Chinese which is basically the same and mutually understandable in Taiwan and Mainland China. However there are different scripts used in different areas of Greater China.

Traditional Chinese is the script used in Taiwan and Hong Kong, whereas Mainland China and Singapore use Simplified Chinese.

How do I choose?

Should I choose Traditional Chinese or Simplified Chinese?

The table below will help you decide which language you require for your translation project. Depending on where you are doing business, the spoken and written form may be different.

CountrySpoken LanguageWritten Language
Mainland ChinaMandarinSimplified Chinese
TaiwanMandarinTraditional Chinese
Hong KongCantoneseTraditional Chinese
SingaporeMandarinSimplified Chinese