Irish Shamrock green backgrond

Irish Public Holidays

National Holidays in Ireland

There are nine public holidays in Ireland each year. A public holiday may commemorate a national event or a special day, and is also called a bank holiday. Most businesses and schools close on these days where others operate restricted schedules. Note that Good Friday is a bank holiday but not a public holiday.

Easter Monday is determined by the full moon and generally speaking, should fall on the first Sunday after the first full moon, either occurring on or after the 21st of March. The latest date for Easter is the 25th of April in any given year.

Irish Public Holidays

  • New Year’s Day
  • Saint Patrick’s Day
  • Easter Monday
  • First Monday in May, June and August
  • Last Monday in October
  • Christmas Day
  • Saint Stephen’s Day
Irish Public Holidays
New Year’s Day1st of January
Saint Patrick’s Day17th of March
Easter Monday*[28th] of March
May Bank Holiday*[2nd] of May
June Bank Holiday*[6th] of June
August Bank Holiday*[1st] of August
October Bank Holiday*[31st] of October
Christmas Day25th of December
Saint Stephen’s Day26th of December
* Dates that change each year